//
you're reading...
Health Matters, Matters of the Spirit, People and Life, Relationships

The Rescuing Hug: The Healing Power of Human Touch

For me, there is nothing more emotionally healing than human touch. When we touch each other, there is an energy exchange in which our spiritual connection is recognized at a subconscious level. We human beings have a deep need for acknowledgement from those around us, we have a need to have our lives validated by others and we have a deep yearning to be loved. We simply cannot survive without each other.

Through living in South Africa for 13 years, I learned about the spirit of ‘Ubuntu’ which exists within the African people. Ubuntu means, ‘I am because of you’. This acknowledgement of the interconnectedness of human beings lies at the basis of the African sense of community, their close family ties and their lasting friendships. In the African mindset, the individual is part of a whole, and it is the whole that is served first and foremost. Individuals who put themselves before the community are seen in a poor light, and where the behaviour is extreme, as in the case of criminal activity, they are severely punished.

Every now and again, Life shows us our interconnectedness; it shows us how much we need each other, and lets us know how important touch is in our healing journey. Do you remember the story of Jackson twins in 1995? The picture might jog your memory:

Twin girls, Brielle and Kyrie, were born 12 weeks prematurely to Heidi and Paul Jackson in October 17, 1995. Kyrie weighed 2 pounds three ounces, while Brielle weighed only two pounds. At the neonatal intensive care unit at The Medical Center of Central Massachusetts in Worcester, they were placed in separate incubators in order to reduce the risk of infection.

Kyrie thrived, putting on weight daily, while Brielle struggled with her life. She had breathing problems and her heart-rate was problematic. She showed low oxygen levels and she seemed unable to gain weight like her sister. On November 12, Brielle began gasping for breath, her heart-rate went up drastically and her tiny body turned a deadly shade of blue. In spite of all the usual medical assistance, Brielle was not responding. The doctors and her parents thought she was going to die. One of the nurses present suddenly recalled a procedure that had multiple-birth babies placed in the same bed. It was commonly used in Europe and was effective…or so she had heard. She put Brielle in the same cot with her sister to see if it would work.

As the incubator door closed, Brielle snuggled up to Kyrie. Immediately, her heart rate slowed and her breathing calmed. Kyrie placed her arm over Brielle, and they lay like this together until Brielle returned to normal.  Very quickly, Brielle began to thrive and soon they were home with their parents.

So, my friends, remember to hug your loved ones, your friends and your neighbours. Touch people in a natural, non-invasive way to let them know you care. Touch transmits love, and love heals everything.

About Yaz

Hi Everyone! Please check out my site. There you'll find a range of subjects on which I've expressed my world view. I always challenge myself and others to move out of their point of view and try seeing things from another perspective. Your point of view will always be there if you don't like mine! And I'd love to hear from you. Perhaps you'll shift something in me. This is the journey to the True Self and I love it. Lots of love to you all!

Discussion

13 thoughts on “The Rescuing Hug: The Healing Power of Human Touch

  1. so beautiful Yaz! & thanks for the reminder … one love <3

    Posted by carolineskanne | November 23, 2012, 1:07 am
  2. Beautiful Yaz. I’m not a hugger by nature. Or I’m a hugger by nature that bad things changed. But I do find comfort from people I trust. There are just some people’s touch who truly do give comfort. I loved this post.

    Posted by Chatter Master | November 23, 2012, 2:16 am
  3. Wonderful and beautiful in so many ways. We forget the importance of the power behind a touch or a hug. Thank you for sharing with us.

    Posted by Suzanne McRae | November 23, 2012, 2:56 am
  4. I’m a hugger, Yaz… always have been, always will be…
    I touch people as I pass them by (those I’m acquainted with; that is).
    It is not a ‘conscious’ thing I do…. Most times I realise (as I’m talking) I’m holding the other person’s hand, or I have my hand on their arm or shoulder. Touch is so needed by all of us; to be sure..

    Posted by carolynpageabc | November 23, 2012, 3:38 am
  5. Yaz, my daughter surprised me by coming back from London yesterday (3 months early) and waiting for me in the living room (Dad helped with the surprise) when I got back from work! I think I hugged her about 100 times last night. I need to go wake her up and hug her some more. We are such a family of huggers patiently waiting for my son to join us! Thanks for the reminder of why we naturally are.

    Posted by Joy is now | November 23, 2012, 11:46 pm
  6. beautiful story sister! When I started my work in prison I never expected to touch anyone and being Italian that almost felt impossible but I recognised my boundaries etc. After the first session was finished one of the women came up to me and asked if she could hug me. and we did. Every session since then everyone in class hugs me and will even line as to not miss out on a hug. The power of love not matter where it is, can not be denied and touch is the healing gift we can offer each other.
    On another word: what are we going to do after 30 Nov??? I’ve really enjoyed your posts everyday so I hope you don’t disappear for too long. Hug to you sweet friend.

    Posted by bentpeople | November 24, 2012, 12:16 am
  7. What a lovely story.x

    Posted by Chris | November 24, 2012, 6:04 pm
  8. Oh so sweet! Hugs everyone 💗

    Posted by Chandra Leitzell | December 4, 2012, 9:38 am
  9. supersized virtual hug for you, Yaz! :-)

    Posted by aalif | February 27, 2013, 8:41 am
  10. ((((((((YAZ))))))
    Loved this! And that pic is priceless! Thank you for sharing this was a story I needed today… The little glimpses of God’s love that we miss when we just skim over the words! This ONE was worth stopping my morning for! Hugs! Di

    Posted by coastalmom | February 27, 2013, 5:56 pm
  11. Awesome story – and the photo says it all.To be so small yet intuitively aware and so alive. It’s fabulous. A big hug to you my friend.

    Posted by Candia Sanders | February 28, 2013, 12:30 am
  12. Hi Yaz, Can’t believe I didn’t comment on this one…

    You know, Colleen only a couple of days ago spoke about a hug imposed on her. It reminds me how I still endure my sister’s hugs, for her sake. It’s such an issue!!

    But you make it so beautiful, so simply lovely.

    Posted by WordsFallFromMyEyes | March 17, 2013, 4:00 am
  13. Lovely story. Precious picture.

    Posted by Ariane | July 25, 2013, 6:17 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Let’s be Facebook Friends!!!

Access Yaz Rooney's Grief and Loss Blogs Here At LegacyConnect

Free e-book Dumisani’s Gift by Yasmine Rooney

Adult Spiritual

Free e-book: The Rainbow Bridge and the 12 Keys of Amenti by Yasmine Rooney

Children 11-16 Spiritual Adventure

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 329 other followers

