//
you're reading...
Matters of the Spirit

A Lesson in Gratitude From Khalil

khalil-gibran-poet-quote-i-have-learned-silence-from-the-talkativeRecently, I’ve been dwelling on all the people who have hurt me in my life and I’ve been focussing particularly on the gifts that came with the pain they inflicted. I learned what it felt like to be on the receiving end of unkind and unjust behaviour. I realize now, that without these hurtful people I wouldn’t be who I am now or where I am today. In different ways, they mirrored back to me the character flaws I needed to address within myself. If it weren’t for these people I wouldn’t be as loved and respected by my family, I wouldn’t be quite as kind to others, I wouldn’t be as tolerant, I wouldn’t be as good a listener to my friends and family.

I also know I have yet more people to meet that will hurt me, but I am strengthened in knowing that though the experience will be difficult to accept at first, I will learn even more about myself and I will continue to evolve into a better human being.

And so I express gratitude to everyone who has passed my way. The kindnesses and unkindnesses; they are all the same beautiful gift of love.

About Yaz

Hi Everyone! Please check out my site. There you'll find a range of subjects on which I've expressed my world view. I always challenge myself and others to move out of their point of view and try seeing things from another perspective. Your point of view will always be there if you don't like mine! And I'd love to hear from you. Perhaps you'll shift something in me. This is the journey to the True Self and I love it. Lots of love to you all!

Discussion

29 thoughts on “A Lesson in Gratitude From Khalil

  1. I feel so related to this post.

    I don’t “like” things that have happened, but I believe my path brought me to where I am and who I am with. So how can I not appreciate the lessons?

    When I think along these lines I flash to a show, “Highway To Heaven” with Michael Landon and Victor French. I LOVE them. This one show was about a young girl who was working very hard in her parents home, helping with boarders and family members. Victor’s character was having a difficult time seeing this precious and cheerful child be under such responsibility. So he wished all of that away. When they returned the child was sour, and very unpleasant. He didn’t get it. It was part of her journey, these chores, and being needed, that helped create her.

    Sorry to hijack your post to share that. :) But I thought you might like it Yaz.

    Posted by Chatter Master | October 23, 2013, 12:11 am
    • I love this story Colleen! It captures Khalil Gibran’s wise point beautifully. Whenever difficult situations arise and people ‘disappoint’ me with their behaviour, I’m now able to turn it all back on myself and get something good from it. Was this show a series? It sounds just my thing! Thanks for this Colleen.

      Posted by Yaz | October 23, 2013, 7:52 am
      • I’m glad you liked it. Yes, “Highway To Heaven” was a series with Michael Landon (of “Little House On THe Prairie” fame). It may be ‘sappy’ to some. But I loved it.

        It took me some time to grow in to being able to learn these lessons too.

        Posted by Chatter Master | October 23, 2013, 1:03 pm
  2. another gem to add to the jewels of wisdom. much gratitude to you sweet sista!

    Posted by adriana | October 24, 2013, 2:48 am
  3. Yaz, really well said and a beautiful perspective on life. I hope everyone you meet in the future treats you we’ll.

    Posted by mromo1962 | October 24, 2013, 7:24 pm
  4. Yaz, so very reflective. Also huge hearted, I believe, to give thanks to all who passed you in life. You know I have a considerable sore point with one individual, yet it cannot be denied I grew from it, and found myself enduring. So for me, food for thought.

    Posted by WordsFallFromMyEyes | October 24, 2013, 11:20 pm
  5. Wow I love that quote Yaz! Thanks for sharing your feelings xox

    Posted by shamanictracker | October 26, 2013, 9:22 am
  6. I remember in the 6th grade being kind to a friend whose mother didn’t have enough money to buy her a warm coat for a very cold winter. She would make up stories that she had a fur coat in her closet but it was too warm to wear to school. lol. I knew she was not telling truth, but I played along as I didn’t want her to feel bad. The following year my mother was experiencing financial difficulties, and though she always made sure we were well groomed, I was wearing shoes that were starting to get very old. The first person to make fun of me and make negative comments was my friend with the make believe fur coat. She even pointed them out to our classmates who were walking with us! We remained buddies. As an adult I understand why she did this.

    I think the lesson for me is that even if in life I have experienced kindness as well as unkindness, and also have been unkind myself, it has not closed my heart. I have learned to keep my heart open to life and love.

    Posted by sufilight | October 30, 2013, 9:21 am
    • Thanks for sharing your story Marie. I can think of so many unpleasant school stories! I also had a friend who came from a family of eight kids, who was always about to receive some enormous gift – expensive shoes, clothes, etc, but none of which ever materialized. I learned that people pick up on untruths even if they’re not aware of what’s happening. They simply don’t trust you and they never know why!

      Posted by Yaz | October 30, 2013, 10:34 am
  7. Dear Yaz,
    How good to read your words of wisdom. I can’t quite get back to blogging again sadly myself. Were there any more lessons from your ‘grand walk’? I will go back and look now but I only know of two posts? Emma

    Posted by Joy is now | November 10, 2013, 7:04 am
    • Hi Emma, good to hear from you! I’ve also officially ‘closed’ my wordpress blog! It just seems to have run its course, and I will be concentrating on other pursuits online. When those sites are up (one of which is camino-talk) I’ll send you the links. So I know kind of, where you are with the blogging thing. I’d like to hear from you from time to time. perhaps we can email each other? I sent you a message but it returned.

      Posted by Yaz | November 10, 2013, 11:31 am
  8. Hi Yaz, I just stopped back here to make sure I haven’t been missing your posts. I hope life is treating you well and the kindnesses far outweigh the unkindness. I hope you are well. And though I haven’t missed any posts, I have missed you. :)

    Posted by Chatter Master | November 14, 2013, 1:34 pm
    • Hi Colleen! Thanks for stopping by, but I’ve ‘closed’ this wordpress blog now. I’m currently working on a couple of other sites on weebly, one of which is focussed on camino-related stuff and the other a spiritual-type site (you know the stuff I go on about!) I’d like to keep in touch, so it would be nice to email now and then until I get my sites officially published. I’ll send you the links in case you might find something of interest there. I hope life is good for you too! Lots of love!

      Posted by Yaz | November 14, 2013, 7:36 pm
  9. Thank you, Yaz. Lessons on gratitude come to us in all forms. Things to keep in mind especially with the upcoming holiday, Thanksgiving.

    Also, just wanted to let you know I nominated you for the Dragon’s Loyalty Award on a post at my site (http://plaintalkandordinarywisdom.com/a-special-thank-you-dragons-loyalty-award/). I’m happy to share you with my readers. :-)

    Posted by Pat | November 20, 2013, 4:28 am
  10. Powerful words… as always. Hope you are well Yaz.

    Posted by Citizen Network | December 11, 2013, 9:40 pm
  11. The quote and your post says it all,
    Without critics how would I know what faults to work on.

    Posted by jacksjottings | December 13, 2013, 5:30 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Let’s be Facebook Friends!!!

Access Yaz Rooney's Grief and Loss Blogs Here At LegacyConnect

Free e-book Dumisani’s Gift by Yasmine Rooney

Adult Spiritual

Free e-book: The Rainbow Bridge and the 12 Keys of Amenti by Yasmine Rooney

Children 11-16 Spiritual Adventure

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 332 other followers

