//
you're reading...
Inspirational Bloggers, Mental Health

A Pathway to Greatness…On the Road of the Broken Mind

‘The Quiet Borderline’, in her kindness, gifted me with The Strong Person Award, which I have accepted with grace. She is a 27 year old young lady who had a mental breakdown about three years ago and has been in and out of the psychiatric ward ever since. She both alarms and delights her readers with her blogs, writing of her everyday life on the ward, and revealing the contents of her mind. I am personally fascinated by her journey because through all her pain and anxiety, I see a strong character; a woman who is startlingly intelligent, yet overwhelmed by what I call the ‘internal war between established thinking and radical change’.  I am interested in the way she views her state of mind and particularly in the way her condition is dealt with by professionals, and in reading about hers and other people’s circumstances, I am often startled by how little we as human beings understand the human mind and its personal journey. On being nominated by her, I was compelled to write a little about my views on mental ‘illness’.

Since I am one of those nominees on her list currently not ‘diagnosed’ with a ‘mental illness’ I decided to accept my award with some words about my view of mental health, as well as sharing an amazingly inspiring video that I found, called The Wayseer. This video (below) is for you, ‘The Quiet Borderline’, and for all of you on ‘The Quiet Borderline’s’ list of nominees. It is also for anyone else out there struggling to cope in the world, and especially for those who do not conform to established thinking and know that there is more to life than we are offered.

Though I have suffered from depression, anxiety and suicidal thoughts and to this day still move in and out of that space, I do not view these states as some sort of illness. For me, the fact that I have these tendencies tells me that I have reached a place in my evolution where I am questioning the established order, and no longer accept the ideas that we are generally fed since birth. When I become depressed, I know that there is a part of me prodding me to make great changes. When I feel suicidal, there is a part of me wanting to die…not necessarily a physical death, but to an idea according to which I have lived my life. To my mind, suicidal tendencies aren’t bad; they simply have to be understood in the right context. Some people actually come face to face with physical death. For them change means ending this life and beginning another. For many others, it means changing a way of being in this world. My anxiety kicks in because there is also a part of me terrified of what the changes might bring. For me to move out of these difficult feelings requires that I answer all the inner questions by getting in touch with the unconscious war within myself.

To me, depression, anxiety and suicidal feelings are all indicators that I am evolving out of a robotic mindset into one that is freer and much more expressive. Within the depressive feelings are those of self-hatred. I do not self-harm, and I do not take any medications because when I get these feelings, I confront what is happening inside of myself. In my case, self-hate plays itself out in the metaphor of my feelings about my body. When I move into depression and self-hate, I take time out to get straight to the truth. I first tell myself that the self-hate is an acknowledgement that I am not being true to myself in some way. It is not about my body at all. Then I ask myself what needs to change, what idea is stopping me from moving forward in my life. The depression is always about an idea that I hold dear, bearing down on me, depressing me. When I have a panic attack because I know I am going to a mall or I am going to socialize in a large group, I ask myself what I am really afraid of. I know that the mall or the groups of people aren’t the real issue. The mall and the people are just the metaphor to play out my fear. The question of what I’m really afraid of always leads back to what idea about both myself and my life I need to let go of, and what changes will take place because of it.

Mental ‘illness’ to me is about people undergoing massive internal shifts and changes and it is always about the psyche trying to break out of its rigid conditioning. Because we are a society of human beings who hold on to the established order of thinking, I observe that we are unable to respond when people break down under the pressure of changes in their world perspectives. Mental health professionals generally have fixed ideas about how one should view the world, and therefore are compelled to work with this in mind. ‘Healing’ for these mental health professionals means bringing the ‘patient’ back to the established way of looking at the world, and in most cases, drugs are used to this end. As a species, we maintain the status quo, generation after generation, showing only superficial signs of change. At the deepest part of us, we are the same as we were hundreds of thousands of years ago. We are still a species that is imprisoned by its ideas; we are still a species that continues to perpetuate itself even though it has nothing to look forward to except a perpetuation of the same ideas and the same manifestation of its physical form and living conditions. We are a species that unfortunately is hardly aware that it is imprisoned; it only knows that it is desperately unhappy and has adapted to that innate despair by creating the concept of endeavour in order to be distracted from it. We work hard to cover up the pain that is so much a part of us and our ambition, aspirations, desires, hopes, and dreams are all part of the desperate measures that we take to escape from it.

My own journey has taught me that the human race as a collective is totally messed up. The collective mind does not know its place in the universe, it has no recollection of its origins, and no idea where it goes after death. It has a sense of its own divinity, yet cannot locate it. The collective mind fumbles about in the dark making up stories about itself, completely lost. It concocts belief systems that produce a sense of safety,  and when later these beliefs are challenged, creates new ones in their place.  The collective mind goes from pillar to post trying to understand itself, searching for its origins, and failing miserably at every turn as it collides with its beliefs. In short, the collective mind is sick, and our healing only begins to manifest when we start to remove the rigid belief structures that blind us to the truth as to who we really are. In other words, true healing only begins when the mind undergoes emotional and mental breakdown.

I’ve learned that the breakdown of the psyche marks the beginning of a total transformation in the human system and can be a devastating experience for the person involved. Depression and anxiety are only symptoms of a greater event taking place in the mind of the individual. People going through this intensely difficult transformation need help in understanding what is happening. Unfortunately, the human world does not have the facilities or knowledge to offer this kind of assistance, and while some people with milder change issues get better, most people either find their own way of coping, or they commit suicide.

For all of you who are struggling with mental breakdown, know that it is happening for a reason far greater than you may imagine, and that you are not ‘weak’ in the head. ‘The Quiet Borderline’ is right when she says that all of us are strong. Weak people cling to established ways of thinking and refuse to question their lot in life. Strong people respond to the inner voice that whispers that there is more to life than we are told. It isn’t easy to break out and we have a lot to contend with before we get to the end of the road. But in the long term, we have much to gain even though sometimes that is hard to imagine. This is a human journey, and every last one of us will take it. For each individual, it is just a matter of time.

I wish you well in your journey, and every now and again when you feel down, watch the video. It’s brilliant, and in watching it, you touch your own greatness for a moment. Enjoy!

About Yaz

Hi Everyone! Please check out my site. There you'll find a range of subjects on which I've expressed my world view. I always challenge myself and others to move out of their point of view and try seeing things from another perspective. Your point of view will always be there if you don't like mine! And I'd love to hear from you. Perhaps you'll shift something in me. This is the journey to the True Self and I love it. Lots of love to you all!

Discussion

13 thoughts on “A Pathway to Greatness…On the Road of the Broken Mind

  1. YAZ THIS WAS FANTASTIC.
    I LOVED IT, LOVED IT.

    “Your impulsivity is a gift, impulse is a key to the miraculous” – etc, etc, etc “Your mood swings reflect the natural source of light”…. OH SO MUCH.

    “Your addictive personality is just a symptom of your vast underused capacity for heroic creative expression & spiritual connection…your utter lack of repression…your wide-eyed idealism…your unmitigated & open mind. Didn’t anybody ever tell you: these are the traits shared by the greatest pioneers & visionaries, innovators, revolutionaries, procrastinators, & drama queens, activitsts on the social scene, space cadets & mavericks, philosophers & derelicts, business suits flyin’ fighter jets, football stars & sex addicts, celebrities with A.D.D., alcoholics, booze-sick novelty, first-responders, profits & Saints, mystics & change-agents…” (I’m forgiven!)

    xxxx THIS IS THE BEST THE BEST. I don’t ever reblog, Yaz (well, but myself in a slump!), but if you don’t mind, I shall with this. I LOVE IT.

    Wait for my next video on http://www.VodkaWasMyMuse.wordpress.com – you will then SEE how this actually so ties in! IT TIES IN!

    …’when felt through the senses, is Grace…”
    Oh, Yaz…

    Bless you!

    BLESS YAZ TODAY!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Posted by WordsFallFromMyEyes | August 25, 2012, 3:53 am
  2. Reblogged this on WordsFallFromMyEyes and commented:
    Mercy, you know, I seriously don’t normally reblog (but myself, aheh!) but here I was on a Saturday morning, just cruising & loving the sun, the purr of my kitty cat, the coffee, catching up on bloggers I really enjoy and then… then…. THEN I CAME UPON THIS!!

    It’s the VIDEO that got me – the VIDEO. You would surely love this video, all. Goodness, I may be behind the wave (wouldn’t surprise me HA!!) but in case I can just allow one more person to hear this who hasn’t, I wish to reblog this by YAZ. Ah, Yaz hit the nail on the head today for me, & it wasn’t a nail in my coffin… 😉

    My fave words on the video are…
    “Your addictive personality is just a symptom of your vast underused capacity for heroic creative expression & spiritual connection…your utter lack of repression…your wide-eyed idealism…your unmitigated & open mind. Didn’t anybody ever tell you: these are the traits shared by the greatest pioneers & visionaries, innovators, revolutionaries, procrastinators, & drama queens, activists on the social scene, space cadets & mavericks, philosophers & derelicts, business suits flyin’ fighter jets, football stars & sex addicts, celebrities with A.D.D., alcoholics, booze-sick novelty, first-responders, profits & Saints, mystics & change-agents…”

    Posted by WordsFallFromMyEyes | August 25, 2012, 3:59 am
  3. Yaz, how I read with such interest the words you wrote. I love the way you think, you have experienced alot in life to write such words. I look forward to reading all you write in the future. :))) Granny Gee

    Posted by grannyscolorful | August 25, 2012, 4:03 am
  4. I like to read your article, thank you very much for sharing with us. God bless you. Have a nice weekend

    Posted by campanulladellaanna | August 25, 2012, 9:06 am
  5. I deal with my own issues such as panic feelings by getting into oberserver mode – I watch the feeling but do not attach my thoughts to it, and it moves away from my body. Then I look within to see where the feelings are coming from. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, good food for thought!

    Posted by sufilight | August 25, 2012, 11:22 pm
  6. Lieber Gruss und eine gute Woche wünsche ich Gruss Gislinde.

    Posted by giselzitrone | August 27, 2012, 4:33 pm
  7. Yaz, I wish I had such a bright, vibrant and positive outlook on life like you!!!!

    Posted by Habiba Younis | August 29, 2012, 6:49 pm
  8. Hi Yaz,
    I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award. If you choose to accept the award please follow the link to my post. If you prefer not to receive it, please accept my appreciation for your blog.
    http://thewondrousdharma.com/2012/08/29/one-lovely-blog-award/

    Posted by Arjuna | August 29, 2012, 9:07 pm
    • Hello Arjuna, Thank you so much for the honour of this nomination. I really appreciate it. I hope I can live up to it! I will be following your guidelines this week.I’m not surprised you were nominated. I love your site. Much love, Yaz

      Posted by yazrooney | August 29, 2012, 10:43 pm
  9. Amazing post and video. I’m truly flattered and in awe of the video you shared with us. Amazing. No more words!! Xx

    Posted by The Quiet Borderline (back in hospital) | August 30, 2012, 5:46 pm
  10. Reblogged this on The Quiet Borderline and commented:
    Flattering to say the least and make sure to watch the video!

    Posted by The Quiet Borderline (back in hospital) | August 30, 2012, 5:47 pm
  11. Wunsche dir ein glückliches schönes weekend lieber Gruss Gislinde

    Posted by giselzitrone | August 31, 2012, 4:15 pm
  12. Hi Yaz,

    Was coming by to see what you’re up to. Then revisited this. Ah yes, I remember this. It’s great.

    Posted by WordsFallFromMyEyes | January 27, 2013, 2:55 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Let’s be Facebook Friends!!!

Access Yaz Rooney's Grief and Loss Blogs Here At LegacyConnect

Free e-book Dumisani’s Gift by Yasmine Rooney

Adult Spiritual

Free e-book: The Rainbow Bridge and the 12 Keys of Amenti by Yasmine Rooney

Children 11-16 Spiritual Adventure

