//
you're reading...
Health Matters, Mind/Body Connection

A Legacy of Love: An Alternative View of Our Health Issues

Hello Friends! For the next 30 days, I’ll be participating in the WEGO Health blog-a-thon. The idea is to produce an article every day that pertains to health issues, and that will be of use to people interested in improving their health and maintaining optimum levels of well-being for life. Having a background in pharmacy, an avid interest in all types of natural health remedies, and a long history in the natural healing profession (Reiki, Reflexology, Aromatherapy Massage, Body-Mind Counselling), it was only natural that I share my experience and insights so that those who are interested in doing so, may gain an alternative view of their health concerns.

My stance on disease and its management is this: I appreciate the role of the medical profession in the treatment of disease, though as a holistic healer, I recognize only too well its limitations. The same limitations apply to any healing modality, be it Chinese Acupuncture, Ayurvedic Medicine, Reiki, Reflexology etc. As unorthodox as these methodologies may seem to many, they are still used by many practitioners to solely treat the symptoms of disease. It is only very spiritually advanced, emotionally intelligent practitioners who understand how to connect the physical elements of disease with the mental, emotional and spiritual nature of life, and we should count ourselves very fortunate to be treated by people of this calibre. My experience has shown me that for healing to take place, disease must be approached holistically. If only the symptoms of disease are treated, and the emotional, physical, mental and spiritual causes ignored, no healing modality will be fully effective.

I have seen that pharmaceutical drugs can work as well as herbal medicine, provided they (the pharmaceuticals) have been properly tested for safety. History shows us that this has not always been the case. Herbal medicine is ancient, and the proof of its efficacy is in its sustained, effective use over aeons of time. Though I lean towards natural medicine, I have no issue with taking prescribed pharmaceuticals if I find them to be effective. And though it is highly idealized, there are actually side-effects to natural medicine too.

In the next 30 days, my focus will be on the emotional causes of disease, highlighting the link between the thoughts that we harbour in the sub- and unconscious mind, and the stress that arises in the body in the form of disease. I will be talking about the ancient history of medicine, showing our natural connection to nature and the way in which we once approached the treatment of disease. I shall discuss hereditary disease and its link to beliefs about life that are passed down through the generations, I intend to show you how the body reflects our thought patterns, and speaks to an observant eye about the contents of your mind. I am going to allow you to identify your own personality type and examine the type of disease you could be prone to, should you not address your fears. I will explore the healing modalities of different cultures today, and examine their outlooks on certain health conditions. I will offer tips on how we can adopt more positive, loving ways to interact with people, when we find that our current behaviours are causing stress in the body. I intend to discuss how diseases, if we let them, teach us about who we are, and how healing is not always a matter of keeping someone alive, but may also be about allowing a person to die with a critical issue resolved in the heart and soul.

For me, disease in the body or mind is ultimately caused by dis-ease in our thinking processes, and diseased thinking arises out of an absence of love. Love is, irrefutably, the greatest healing modality of all. Positive thinking does very little to heal a broken heart, or a broken mind, and though we are often scarcely aware of it, most of us walk our paths through life with one or the other or both. These blogs are certainly not about positive thinking, but about finding new ways to love ourselves and others. When we learn to do so much more of that, we have no other alternative but to flourish in heart, mind, body and soul. And for the next 30 days, this is my offering of love to you. May the reverberations be felt for all the days of your life.

About Yaz

Hi Everyone! Please check out my site. There you'll find a range of subjects on which I've expressed my world view. I always challenge myself and others to move out of their point of view and try seeing things from another perspective. Your point of view will always be there if you don't like mine! And I'd love to hear from you. Perhaps you'll shift something in me. This is the journey to the True Self and I love it. Lots of love to you all!

Discussion

8 thoughts on “A Legacy of Love: An Alternative View of Our Health Issues

  1. Yaz I am looking forward to this! I don’t know much about holistic healing and well being. But I am very open to it. I believe that humans survived many things long before the chemicals of the last fifty years. Though I too agree pharmaceuticals have a place for us when they are safe. I’m excited to learn.

    Posted by Chatter Master | November 1, 2012, 12:29 am
  2. awesome sister! these are my beliefs too!

    Posted by bentpeople | November 1, 2012, 12:40 am
  3. You’ve got me…! I shall be viewing with great interest, Yaz…. 🙂

    Posted by carolynpageabc | November 1, 2012, 3:11 am
  4. I wouldn’t miss it for the world. Goodness you have a lot of talents, as well a huge heart. Offerings gratefully accepted

    Posted by Joyisnow | November 1, 2012, 11:10 am
  5. Great article Yaz, I’m looking forward to reading some more and I have just downloaded Dumisani’s gift too so thank you.x

    Posted by Chris | November 1, 2012, 12:34 pm
  6. You are so very much, so truly a wholistic practitioner, it is clear to see, Yaz. I have heard of ‘dis-ease’ before, and it makes perfect sense of the word.

    This will be WONDERFUL to come & read what you have to share on the causes of disease, truly wonderful.

    I remember reading Louise L Hay’s book, can’t remember the name of it, but she described painful knees as being sourced from an unwillingness to bend/fold/sway/be flexible. I think of that whenever I get an ache in my knees, which I do from time to time – or my knee “gives way” when going down the stairs in our flats.

    Your posts are going to be great! 🙂 I’m so glad you joined – it’s right up your alley.

    Posted by WordsFallFromMyEyes | November 1, 2012, 2:07 pm
  7. I love your positive energy, Yaz!

    Posted by The Hook | November 3, 2012, 3:07 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Let’s be Facebook Friends!!!

Access Yaz Rooney's Grief and Loss Blogs Here At LegacyConnect

Free e-book Dumisani’s Gift by Yasmine Rooney

Adult Spiritual

Free e-book: The Rainbow Bridge and the 12 Keys of Amenti by Yasmine Rooney

Children 11-16 Spiritual Adventure

