//
you're reading...
Health Matters, Self-Help

The Body and Your Beliefs: How Certain Thoughts Affect Specific Body Systems

After introducing the mind/body connection on Day 2 of the WEGO Health Blog Month, that is, how physical health is directly related to our thoughts and emotions, today, I’m going to demonstrate how our thought patterns are correlated to specific systems in the body. There has been much research in these areas, and should you be interested in looking for proof that our thought processes do indeed affect the physical body, there are abundant resources you can find on the internet. As I always say, direct experience is the best proof that something is true and in your case, if you want to test it, I suggest you become observant of your emotions and your bodily responses, and sit back and watch the same thing of the people in your life. As far as I’m concerned, after spending a large part of my lifetime in the healing business, the validity of all of this can only ever lie in my experience.

So, let’s get started! If you remember from those laborious human anatomy lessons in school, there are eleven systems in the body. These are:

          • Skeletal System (bones)
          • Muscular System (muscles)
          • Respiratory System (nose, trachea, lungs)
          • Circulatory System (heart, blood, vessels)
          • Digestive System (mouth, oesophagus, stomach, intestines)
          • Nervous System (brain, spinal cord, nerves)
          • Excretory System (lungs, large intestine, kidneys)-Urinary System (bladder, kidneys)
          • Endocrine System (hormones)
          • Reproductive System (male and female reproductive organs)
          • Immune System (many types of protein, cells, organs, tissues)
          • Integumentary (Skin, hair, sweat glands)

Each of these systems are affected by specific thought processes…Let’s have a look at what they are:

SKELETAL:

THOUGHTS THAT RELATE TO OUR FEELINGS OF SUPPORT IN OUR LIVES

MUSCULAR:  

THOUGHTS THAT REFLECT OUR FLEXIBLE/RIGID VIEWS ON LIFE

RESPIRATORY:        

THOUGHTS THAT RELATE TO OUR FEELINGS OF SELF-WORTH

CIRCULATORY :   

THOUGHTS THAT INDICATE THE LEVEL OF OUR JOY, ENTHUSIASM FOR LIFE

DIGESTIVE:   

THOUGHTS RELATED TO THE DEGREE TO WHICH WE ACCEPT LIFE’S CHALLENGES

NERVOUS:          

THOUGHTS RELATED TO THE SENSE OF CONTROL OVER OUR LIFE, OUR SENSE OF CONNECTION TO OTHERS AND TO FORCES BEYOND THE PHYSICAL

URINARY/EXCRETORY:   

THIS REFLECTS OUR ABILITY TO DISTINGUISH BETWEEN IDEAS THAT HURT US, AND THOSE THAT NOURISH

ENDOCRINE:  

REFLECTS OUR THOUGHTS ABOUT HOW WE FEEL ABOUT OURSELVES, OUR LIVES,  THE WORLD, CREATING SHIFTS IN BODY CHEMISTRY THAT ALTER THE FLOW OF VITAL ENERGY THROUGH SPECIFIC PARTS OF THE BODY

REPRODUCTIVE:    

RELATED TO THE THOUGHTS ABOUT OUR CREATIVE ABILITY, AS WELL AS THOUGHTS ABOUT OUR POWER OVER OTHERS

IMMUNE:  

RELATED TO OUR THOUGHTS ABOUT OUR OWN PERSONAL POWER IN THE WORLD

INTEGUMENTARY:  

RELATED TO OUR THOUGHTS ABOUT OUR VULNERABILITY AND OUR NEED FOR PROTECTION FROM OUTSIDE ELEMENTS

Now, just to give you some idea of how to begin looking at the body/mind connections, let’s examine some very simplistic examples of ailments and the type of thoughts associated (I won’t go into more complex diseases at this point).

SKELETAL: 

LEG BONE FRACTURING/BREAKAGE – ‘I CAN’T KEEP DOING THIS’, ‘I’M AFRAID TO KEEP DOING THIS’.  ARMS/HANDS ‘I CAN’T DO IT’, ‘I DON’T WANT TO DO IT’.

A client came to me in a quandary because her leg broke just before her planned wedding, which had to be postponed for a year. The next year she broke her left arm (ring finger arm). Counselling revealed that while she wanted to marry her man, she had an unacknowledged fear of living in his country (they were going to do this at some time in the future). Once she confronted this fear, she was able to verbalize this to her husband and make adjustments to their future arrangements. They eventually got married.

MUSCULAR: 

NECK STIFFNESS ‘I CAN’T SEE ANYONE ELSE’S OPINION BUT MY OWN’. ‘IT’S MY WAY OR THE HIGHWAY’. GENERAL BODY STIFFNESS – ‘I AM STUCK IN MY WAYS, AND MY WAY IS BEST’.

A client came for healing for a frozen shoulder and inability to move her neck. Counselling revealed an absolute rigidity in her attitude to her daughter’s choice of university. Her condition did not let up until she allowed herself to step into her daughter’s shoes and view life from her perspective.

In my classes, I would always ask people to perform a series of movements to demonstrate that their degree of flexibility always correlated with their general openness to other people’s ideas and opinions.

RESPIRATORY:  

ASTHMA- ‘I AM SUFFOCATED BY MY FEAR OF…’  or ‘THEY SUFFOCATE ME’, ‘I’M NOT GOOD ENOUGH.’

My daughter hates to live away from us. When she leaves the country without us, she gets asthma attacks. When we’re together, wherever we go, she’s fine and healthy. She has a fear of being alone without us.

My nephew’s father ruled his every move. He couldn’t make a decision without a grilling from his father. His acute, life-threatening asthma disappeared as soon as his mother left his father. Fourteen years later the asthma has not returned, ever.

CIRCULATORY : 

VARICOSE VEINS, BLOOD CIRCULATION BLOCKAGES – ‘I HATE MY POSITION IN LIFE, I SHOULD   HAVE ACHIEVED MORE THAN THIS, BUT LIFE STOPPED ME FROM ACHIEVING MY POTENTIAL.’

A client had varicose veins, and her legs were a bluish colour from lack of circulation. She’d wanted to leave home and take up a nursing career. She became pregnant, got married, had more unplanned children, and forgot about her dreams. She was always unhappy about her lot in life. We had long sessions about this connection to her circulation problems.

DIGESTIVE:    

INDIGESTION –‘I CAN’T ACCEPT WHAT IS HAPPENING’. VOMITING – ‘I CAN’T TAKE THIS INFORMATION IN, I WON’T ACCEPT IT.’ HEARTBURN – ‘I’M ANGRY ABOUT WHAT’S HAPPENING, I CAN’T ACCEPT IT.’

We often think we have these conditions because of what we eat, but the body is responding to our conscious or unconscious thoughts, and so is unable to digest our food.

NERVOUS:     

HEADACHES – ‘I DON’T KNOW WHICH CHOICE TO MAKE’, ‘I DON’T UNDERSTAND’, ‘I DON’T KNOW WHAT TO BELIEVE.’

Don’t we all have experience of this one?

URINARY/EXCRETORY: 

CONSTIPATION – ‘I CAN’T STOP’, ‘I’M NEEDED EVERYWHERE, IF I STOP, EVERYTHING CRASHES’, ‘ONLY I DO THINGS PROPERLY.’

The clients who came to me with serious constipation problems were often control freaks, people who felt that if they were not rushing about their lives, organizing everybody in dictatorial fashion; if they were not aggressively competitive, always on the phone, always working, nothing would get achieved, and their lives would be in ruin. The healing process entailed them having to learn to trust other people, take time out and LET GO.

ENDOCRINE:   

OVER-ACTIVE THYROID – ‘THERE’S SO MUCH TO DO AND I’VE GOT TO DO IT ALL QUICKLY’, ‘I’LL SLEEP WHEN I’M DEAD.’

These people have similar characteristics to the constipated individuals above.

REPRODUCTIVE:  

ENDOMETRIOSIS – ‘I MUST BE AS STRONG AS A MAN’, ‘I MUST NOT SHOW WEAKNESS’ , ‘WOMEN ARE VULNERABLE, I MUST NOT SHOW VULNERABILITY’, ‘I MUST PROVE MYSELF’, ‘I MUST  GET TO THE TOP’, ‘I MUST BE IN CHARGE’.

The kind of women I have treated with this condition are generally women who are highly competitive and try to emulate men (in the work environment), believing their femininity to be a point of vulnerability. One friend of mine that I treated was obsessed with arm-wrestling men, always believed that she was being over-looked at work because she was a woman (this turned out not to be true), would compete in every sport possible, trying to prove that women could be as physically strong as men. When she married, she made a huge issue of being the bread-winner in the family while her husband stayed home (she reminded us all of it all the time!).

IMMUNE: 

COLDS AND FLU – ‘I MUST KEEP GOING, I CAN’T STOP TILL THIS IS DONE’, ‘I CAN’T REST NOW.’

Sound familiar?

INTEGUMENTARY:    

ALLERGIES – ‘I FEEL VULNERABLE TO LIFE’S ELEMENTS’, I’M NOT SAFE’, ‘DANGER LURKS IN ALL SORTS OF PLACES’, ‘I HAVE TO BE VIGILANT AT ALL TIMES.’

My clients with allergies were generally very anxious, cautious people. Healing began only when they started to gain some trust in LIFE itself.

That’s it for today, my friends. Remember, observation is everything. If you don’t look for patterns you won’t see them, and life’s wonderful mystery will never reveal itself to you. Until tomorrow….

About Yaz

Hi Everyone! Please check out my site. There you'll find a range of subjects on which I've expressed my world view. I always challenge myself and others to move out of their point of view and try seeing things from another perspective. Your point of view will always be there if you don't like mine! And I'd love to hear from you. Perhaps you'll shift something in me. This is the journey to the True Self and I love it. Lots of love to you all!

Discussion

6 thoughts on “The Body and Your Beliefs: How Certain Thoughts Affect Specific Body Systems

  1. This is amazingly accurate. Our neighbor has been rushed to the hospital because of constipation and my s/o and I wondered what was the spiritual/psychological significance of this. We don’t know her very well, but, have heard her screaming at her husband because the lawn has not been mowed according to her specifications, the flowers are not arranged properly, etc. She is also very active works all day outside doing many things at once.

    In what category would be trouble with hearing/ears?

    Posted by sufilight | November 5, 2012, 12:42 am
  2. Yaz, this is FANTASTIC. I love this information. I copied the body of it and emailed it to myself at work, so I can print it and have it up.

    Thank you enormously for this – it is fantastic. I am going to review it when I have issue, physical issue, and consider what really it is. Very precious to know.

    And I didn’t know we have 11 systems in the body! Thanks for that too 🙂

    Posted by WordsFallFromMyEyes | November 5, 2012, 12:45 am
  3. Wonderful, Yaz. I too have worked in this way with clients. There has always been a ‘link’ between the physical conditions of the body and the manner in which the client views his/her world…
    This is a wonderful thing you are doing. May many find answers…

    Posted by carolynpageabc | November 5, 2012, 2:58 am
  4. Yaz, I absolutely love your blog. This post is brilliant, I kept making the links as I was reading. Thank you so much, for sharing!

    Posted by carolineskanne | November 5, 2012, 12:28 pm
  5. I trust you completely Yaz, so even though at first glance this didn’t resonate with me, I am willing to explore that I might be rigid in my views of the world and I may be competitive with men. I will look for the signs anyway! Doesn’t Buddhism say not to believe anything you read but to explore it for yourself?

    Posted by Joyisnow | November 5, 2012, 12:49 pm
  6. This is really wonderful, Yaz, and it resonates. Adding familiarity with this material to investigatory meditation (relax, recognize what is happening in the body, become curious about it, allow it to be there, investigate it without identifying with it, and asking it what it needs) will be quite powerful, I’m sure. I am reminded of Caroline Myss’s work. Thanks for a lovely article.

    Posted by erranttranscendentalist | November 5, 2012, 2:06 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Let’s be Facebook Friends!!!

Access Yaz Rooney's Grief and Loss Blogs Here At LegacyConnect

Free e-book Dumisani’s Gift by Yasmine Rooney

Adult Spiritual

Free e-book: The Rainbow Bridge and the 12 Keys of Amenti by Yasmine Rooney

Children 11-16 Spiritual Adventure

