//
you're reading...
Alternative Healing, Health Matters, Humour, Self-Help

The Healing Power Of Laughter!

Laughter is an amazing healer. I’m lucky in that I get to laugh a lot since I have a funny husband and a hilarious daughter. To them, nothing is sacred. If it will get a laugh, everyone and anything is bait. Plus I have a silly sense of humour, so it doesn’t take much to get me into fits of giggles. Start a food fight, and I’m in. Ring someone’s door-bell and run like hell has mascara streaming down my face. Pull down your trousers and stick your bottom out of a car window, and I’ll swerve off the road in hysterics. I’ve been on a spiritual journey most of my life, and often I have taken myself and life itself far too seriously. But then along comes the laughter, and my body, heart and soul come back into balance.

And is there anything more contagious than hearing people laugh uproariously? What to do when you find yourself joining in and you haven’t a clue what was so funny?! And worse, when you have forty fits of the giggles, and an annoyed someone tells you to stop, you keep going for another half hour or so! I love a good laugh and I love being around funny people. For me, along with garlic (!) it’s the best medicine there is.

The best thing of all, is that laughter is good for your health, and scientific studies have demonstrated that it greatly reduces stress hormones, lowers blood pressure levels, reduces tension in the muscles and it boosts the immune system to protect against disease. Laughter, it turns out, causes the release of endorphins in the brain. Endorphins are the body’s natural painkillers, and they produce a state of euphoria and a feeling of well-being.

According to Steve Wilson, physiologist, Joyologist, and Founder of the World Laughter Tour, ‘When you look at all the research on laughter, it strongly leads us to the conclusion that one of the main purposes of laughter is the discharge of tension. Laughter also energizes people. If you laugh long enough and hard enough you reverse the physiology of stress. And anything that can reduce the ill-effects of stress is an ally in health and happiness.’

Apparently, laughter can even help you lose weight (though I’m not one to look to for example!). A study performed in 2005 by Maciej Buchowski, Ph.D demonstrated that 10 to 15 minutes of laughter a day burns 10 to 40 calories. This adds up to a weight loss of about 4 pounds (1.8 kg) per year. So get laughing girls and boys! When we laugh, we also work out specific systems in the body. We stretch muscles in the face and neck, we increase our rate of breathing and we work our abdominal muscles. So who needs the boring gym when we can have a good laugh?!

And we humans are not the only species who love a good chuckle it seems. Scientists studying animals and laughter tell us that
chimpanzees laugh in a similar way to us while playing with each other. Dogs laugh too, though in a less familiar way, chuffing and huffing and snorting, and in doing so, draw other dogs into play with them. And…laboratory rats chirp when tickled (who’d want to tickle a rat?)

Laughter unites us. It brings down barriers between people, making us less defensive and more real about who we are. It helps improve all our relationships and can lead to more positive outlooks on life.

So friends, next time you’re feeling stressed, put on a funny movie, something you know will make you laugh till you pee your pants. By the time it is over, you’ll be right as rain.

About Yaz

Hi Everyone! Please check out my site. There you'll find a range of subjects on which I've expressed my world view. I always challenge myself and others to move out of their point of view and try seeing things from another perspective. Your point of view will always be there if you don't like mine! And I'd love to hear from you. Perhaps you'll shift something in me. This is the journey to the True Self and I love it. Lots of love to you all!

Discussion

10 thoughts on “The Healing Power Of Laughter!

  1. Too right Chucklepants! Xxx

    Posted by Jools | November 15, 2012, 12:13 am
  2. i agree! best medicine : ) love light & giggles x

    Posted by carolineskanne | November 15, 2012, 12:52 am
  3. Yaz, you and I are so on the same page. I love to laugh; need a good one daily. Your article was well written and with lots of great informative insights. Thanks for sharing. Can hear you laughing across the oceans now, your smile bright and beautiful.

    Posted by Candia Sanders | November 15, 2012, 2:55 am
  4. I’m all for a laugh work out!!!!! 🙂

    Posted by Chatter Master | November 15, 2012, 5:20 am
  5. Hahahahahahaha……. Arrrrrr, that feels better already….! 😉

    Posted by carolynpageabc | November 15, 2012, 10:58 am
  6. Couldn’t agree more. BlackAdder or Monty Python’s Life of Brian hit the spot for me, how could anyone feel down after watching stuff like that?

    Posted by Danny Breslin | November 15, 2012, 12:06 pm
  7. OH YES it’s the best medicine. I know absolutely that days at work when i have a giggle, even though doing my work, I feel better than those days when it’s all sombre and little conversation.

    Loved this one, Yaz. Even a smiling face, you smile at.

    Posted by WordsFallFromMyEyes | November 15, 2012, 3:58 pm
  8. Yaz, you are spot on here, laughing is a great way to feel good and I find it contagious when I see other people laughing. I have watched this clip numerous times and still laugh at it, please watch http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bBb8tx5S8x8 x

    Posted by Chris | November 15, 2012, 4:03 pm
  9. I knew it! I knew it had to be a good diet method! I put it in my blogmyselfthin blog on day 3 on Inventercise. I said that laughing myself to streaming tears with a certain website, so that my tummy hurt was surely a form of tummy exercise!! Excellent. I shall try and link this to my post.
    Regarding the ringing the doorbell and running away, I almost wet myself when Hamish & Andy (Australian radio presenters and on tv now too) had this method of ringing the doorbell but only being allowed 3 large steps and then having to hide wherever that was, either by lying on pavement, crouching behind a tiny tree or behind a one foot garden wall. I will try and find it for you. And Carl Barron is my favourite comedian of all time. Check him out! Love your work as always, Yaz!

    Posted by Joy is now | November 17, 2012, 12:52 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Are you an Unhealthy Blogger? | VodkaWasMyMuse - November 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Let’s be Facebook Friends!!!

Access Yaz Rooney's Grief and Loss Blogs Here At LegacyConnect

Free e-book Dumisani’s Gift by Yasmine Rooney

Adult Spiritual

Free e-book: The Rainbow Bridge and the 12 Keys of Amenti by Yasmine Rooney

Children 11-16 Spiritual Adventure

