//
you're reading...
Matters of the Spirit

Bodhisattva Healing Prayer For You

Below is a prayer that is performed each morning by His Holiness the Dalai Lama. It is also the unspoken prayer of my heart. I dedicate this to all my readers who have supported me through this month. I know that there were times when the subject matter was not of great interest to you, yet you still showed up in support of my efforts to play my part in bringing that little bit of extra healing to this world. One of you even ‘liked’ my Facebook page every day that I posted these writings. You’d already been to my blog site, yet you took the time to show me that the support had substance.

This month has had great meaning to me. It has shown me that what I write has a place in the hearts and souls of people who have suffered in similar ways to me. This month has brought a huge flow of traffic from Facebook, people who have asked for more of my words, giving my own journey through horrific pain a new dimension of meaning.  It has brought to life the healer in me that I thought had left this world with my beautiful son.  

With every ‘like’ that popped up on the screen, came a new injection of energy. Whether you read the daily posts or not is of no significance to me, for I know that the energy of love and support was there and it kept me going. It is not easy to write a post every day, especially since the words seem to pour out of my heart, filling the page with what seems like a billion words. And because you were there, keeping my spirits up, those who really needed those posts found me. It proves to me how much we need each other, how we are vital links in the chain of life. This month I have truly experienced the spirit of ‘Ubuntu’, which is an African word that means ‘I am because of you’. From today, I will be working on setting up additional sites for those who need specific guidance, and it is because of your love that others will get a little more help with their inner wounds. My gratitude to all of you can never be fully expressed.

Here is the Bodhisattva prayer that I say now for you. Unwittingly, you performed the very act of these words every time you came to my site this month.

May I be a guard for those who need protection
A guide for those on the path
A boat, a raft, a bridge for those who wish to cross the flood
May I be a lamp in the darkness
A resting place for the weary
A healing medicine for all who are sick
A vase of plenty, a tree of miracles
And for the boundless multitudes of living beings
May I bring sustenance and awakening
Enduring like the earth and sky
Until all beings are freed from sorrow
And all are awakened.

— Shantideva, Indian Buddhist sage 700 A.D.

I truly love you all. Yaz

About Yaz

Hi Everyone! Please check out my site. There you'll find a range of subjects on which I've expressed my world view. I always challenge myself and others to move out of their point of view and try seeing things from another perspective. Your point of view will always be there if you don't like mine! And I'd love to hear from you. Perhaps you'll shift something in me. This is the journey to the True Self and I love it. Lots of love to you all!

Discussion

17 thoughts on “Bodhisattva Healing Prayer For You

  1. Guard, guide, boat, raft, bridge, lamp, sustenance and awakening….you’re all that and more. not even 3 days since I found your blog. Today was a long, hard and disappointing day for me. But this post and the previous one just set me right. Never stop. You’re making a difference. I mean it. hugs

    Posted by journeyman1977 | November 30, 2012, 12:20 am
  2. Yaz, once again your words and grace carry over the pages, through cyberspace to each one of us, touching our hearts. What a lovely prayer and blessing. Thank you thank you!! Hugs and blessings.

    Posted by Candia Sanders | November 30, 2012, 12:42 am
  3. And we truly love you too Yaz. It’s amazing how familiar you feel… Thanks for posting this! I am lucky enough to be reading it first thing in the morning.

    Posted by aalif | November 30, 2012, 4:28 am
  4. Yaz, You are a true healer of minds, heart and souls. Thank you sharing this prayer. It is beautiful.

    Posted by sufilight | November 30, 2012, 6:08 am
  5. Thank you Yaz, for all of your healthy love.

    Posted by Chatter Master | November 30, 2012, 1:12 pm
  6. Yaz, there hasn’t been one word that I am not interested in; from the spiritual and prayers to the hot men!! I am so in love with your blog. Creepy I know but that’s how I would describe it. And your personal comments have healed me on my ‘off’ days, let alone your amazing posts so thanks a million. We are so lucky to have found you. I don’t know how often you will post but I can go back and look at everything you’ve ever written so I am giving you a free pass 🙂 Sounds like you are going to be working harder than ever though, setting up different sites? I hope you don’t sacrifice any part of you just for us. Love and light, till next time. xxx

    Posted by Joy is now | November 30, 2012, 2:09 pm
  7. I am very grateful to you, Yaz, I feel your beautiful heart and soul and your Presence with great strength. It has given me faith and strength in times when I have truly needed “Presence” and friendship. I love you and deeply cherish the connection between us. I have loved coming to your site and allowing myself to simply inhale all the wonders that you present, with such wisdom, grace and love. So glad that you are here. So happy to know you! Love, Linda

    Posted by Linda Willows | November 30, 2012, 2:25 pm
  8. Yaz I am thrilled that earlier this month when I saw you in a group and saw one of your blog posts that I decided to read it. Your writing and sharing is a gift that you have, and it’s a real gem. You are a woman that is filled with wisdom, truth, knowledge and your life experiences and grief and how you are learning to heal and move beyond it, you share beautifully and give others so much hope. Thank you for sharing with us the most profound parts of you and your life. I cannot help but know that you are making a huge difference in our world… a world that needs to hear your voice. Blessings my friend. Keep doing what you are doing. xoxo

    Posted by Suzanne McRae | November 30, 2012, 8:15 pm
  9. You are a pleasure to know, Yaz; your truth, honesty, humour and love are a joy..!
    Thank You for this past month; it has been such a pleasure…!

    Posted by carolynpageabc | December 1, 2012, 2:29 am
  10. Reblogged this on Teacher as Transformer and commented:
    The Bodhistattva Prayer at the bottom has universal meaning. As we move into this time of the year, I need to ask, “What can I do for those who need my help and my protection?” I follow Yaz’s blog and her dedication in November to posting each day about an important health issue is an inspiration.

    Posted by ivonprefontaine | December 1, 2012, 9:16 pm
  11. breathtakingly beautiful

    Posted by thelondonflowerlover | December 1, 2012, 10:54 pm
  12. Most pleasing to go through the Prayer and the dedication is superb.

    Posted by lvsrao | December 2, 2012, 12:04 pm
  13. I nominated you for the “Blog of the Year 2012” award. Please go to Teacher as Transformer at this link http://ivonprefontaine.com/2012/12/04/blog-of-the-year-2012/ for information. Congratulations!

    Posted by ivonprefontaine | December 4, 2012, 3:59 am
  14. Yay I love Shantideva! I am also Buddhist, it helps so much with life. I like this post! Such gratitude for all your readers 😄welcome to the blog circle.
    Chandra

    Posted by Chandra Leitzell | December 4, 2012, 9:34 am
  15. Couldn’t imagine more empathetic words. I’m thankful and I love You, too.

    Richard

    Posted by goldennuggetde | December 5, 2012, 12:51 pm
  16. This is lovely, Yaz, truly lovely how you wrapped up that “heavy going” (to me!) month. I’m so glad you joined me in it. I phased out sooner than you did, to be sure. I think you did great with it all 🙂

    It is beautiful to imagine the Dalai Lama says those words each day. Just beautiful.

    Posted by WordsFallFromMyEyes | December 6, 2012, 2:13 pm
  17. I’ve revisited this today, Yaz. Starving for more by you! 🙂

    I cried in yoga today (well, covered it up, but still – & so when I saw this, wanted to read it again. Thank you.

    Posted by WordsFallFromMyEyes | March 30, 2013, 6:21 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Let’s be Facebook Friends!!!

Access Yaz Rooney's Grief and Loss Blogs Here At LegacyConnect

Free e-book Dumisani’s Gift by Yasmine Rooney

Adult Spiritual

Free e-book: The Rainbow Bridge and the 12 Keys of Amenti by Yasmine Rooney

Children 11-16 Spiritual Adventure

