//
you're reading...
Self-Help

The Gift of Dreaming

she_dreams_204587When I was a very young child, somewhere between the ages of five and six, I had recurring dreams about a man pursuing me. I would look out of my bedroom window of the army apartments we used to live in, and see him coming up the long road that led to the apartment blocks. This man was clearly seeking me and terror always gripped my heart. In the dream, I prayed and prayed that he wouldn’t find me. The dream always ended with him looking up at the window, and a menacing smile breaking out on his face as he recognized me. The absolute dread of this moment of recognition always woke me. I’d be drenched in sweat, and took longer than usual to get back off to sleep.

At the deepest level, most of us are well aware that our dreams have meaning and purpose; we know that in some way they are an expression from a different facet of our awareness. But because we often do not know how to interpret our dreams, we tend to either look upon them with superficial interest, or we dismiss them out of hand. Life in waking consciousness is hard enough to grasp; we tell ourselves we don’t need the added burden of trying to comprehend the convoluted messages from the dream state.

I’ve always been interested in dream interpretation, and when quite young, foolishly used to consult the many dream books that lined the local book shop shelves. Friends and family, knowing of my pursuits, used to ask me to decipher their dreams, and I’d translate all the symbolic meanings based on the knowledge I’d gained from other people’s books. Whilst we all certainly had fun with our dreams, very little wisdom was drawn from them. As I grew up and my awareness of the unlimited nature of the human condition grew, I became conscious of my folly around dream interpretation. Using other people’s translation of symbols to interpret my own adventures during sleep showed a lack of acknowledgement of my own individuality, and a resignation of my personal power. I learned this when I later came across Gestalt Therapy, originated by Fritz Perls, the renowned German-born psychiatrist and psychotherapist.images (1)

When it comes to understanding ourselves through our dreams, Fritz Perls’ Gestalt process is a departure from the popular logical, intellectual interpretation of symbols, and is instead, an acknowledgement of personal experience. In order to decipher dream messages, Perls focussed his clients on the awareness of sensation in their body at the time of dreaming; he asked them for a detailed observation of the surrounding dream environment, and they were required to re-experience the emotions that arose in the dream state. In this way, even the symbols of what seemed like crazy nonsensical dreams began to make sense.

I’ve always remembered my childhood dream and finally got to understand what it was telling me once I followed the Gestalt process. To cut a long story short, and to be as simplistic as possible, the man in my dream represented an inner darkness that had been long ignored throughout many incarnations (perhaps ‘incarnation’ refers to ancestral lineage or ‘past lives’- I don’t know for sure) and would finally catch up with me and play itself out in my life. I was sexually abused as a child and emotionally and physically abused as a young adult. This man represented the essence of that abuse and what it actually symbolized in spiritual terms. The dream environment, the physical nature of the man and my position at the window, the country I was living in at the time, the time of day- all of it spoke of the journey I would take and why. As a child I could not ever have hoped to understand such a message, but many questions I had as an adult, questions that related to my suffering, were answered through the Gestalt process.

In this next example, I will take you through the steps of the Gestalt process so that, if you feel inclined to do so, you can understand the messages of your own dreams. The joy of this process is that the experience of the dream itself, and the interpretation, belongs only to you. A therapist or friend or book author cannot impose their own experience of symbols onto you. When you access messages from the soul through your own direct experience, you get to the absolute truth of what is happening within your psyche.

So let’s look at my next dream, and how I deciphered its message (I will only take a tiny part otherwise we’ll be here all day and night!).

The Dream

In the first two years after my son died, I had recurring dreams that involved dilapidated buildings, me moving old rickety furniture into them, all the while brimming over with angst that these places would collapse in a heap upon my head.  These dreams always began with me wandering down dusty empty streets, finding a familiar house or office block and entering with trepidation. The walls would quite often be held together with black masking tape, and seemed dangerously wobbly. Yet I’d move in anyway, making the place comfortable with old worn out furniture that I recognized from different episodes in my waking life.

Step One: Accept that everything in the dream is a symbol of an unacknowledged aspect of your personality.

Step Two: Replay the dream as if it is happening now. Feel it, become conscious of the emotions evoked.

I am walking down a deserted street. There is no-one about. The buildings are old, dilapidated. They are condemned to be demolished at some point. I enter a building. There are bricks lying in the entrance and I can’t get in easily, but I am adamant. The dust makes me sneeze, and I stare up at the walls. They are wobbling and I feel afraid, insecure. There is black masking tape holding everything together, stopping the walls from falling. I want to move in to this office block. I am here, moving in my furniture. The furniture is old and shabby. Some belongs to an old office I worked in when I was twenty years old.

Step Three: Choose an object in the dream that specifically stands out for you, and BECOME that object. What sensations do you get in your body? What emotions arise?

I look at the wall and become the wall. I am no longer ‘Yaz’ as I know her. I am the wall. I observe myself as bricks and mortar. As I spend time doing this, becoming the wall at a deeper and deeper level, I begin to feel a sensation in my chest, a blocking feeling. As I feel deeper into this sensation, I remember that this feeling occurs when I am being stubborn, when I do not want to do something that someone is insisting that I do. I feel deeper, focussing in on it. I feel pressured. The wall, I suddenly realize, represents my resistance to something. I focus now on the masking tape. I become the masking tape. I get a sensation in my head. A frantic sensation. A grasping for something. The masking tape represents an idea, an excuse. An excuse for my resistance, for my stubbornness. I become the empty desolate street outside the building. As I feel into it, I seem to fall endlessly. I am alone. Completely isolated in time and space. No-one can understand what I am feeling, no one can know the depth of my loss. I’m alone, I’m lost, I don’t know myself, I don’t know where I am, or what to do…all I can do to feel better, to feel familiar ground, is to re-build a life that is dead….

Deciphering the Message of the Dream

After becoming every object in the dream, including the people that appeared, this dream brought home to me that life as I knew it was dead and gone, and that all my energies at the time were going into re-constructing it, trying to salvage bits of the past. My son was gone, and transformation was upon me. Yet I resisted. I clung to the old; I refused to let the past go, fearing the memories of my son would somehow disappear with it. I was grateful for these dreams because as I made the effort to let go, they always informed me when I was holding on.

Dreams are important. They might seem crazy and jumbled sometimes, but there is a story being gifted to you if you care to read it. Dreams reflect the truth of who we are, and if we want to learn more about ourselves, they are a valuable source of information. But to read the truth in them, we must take ownership of every symbol, and we can do this through the example of the Gestalt process.

Sweet dreams to you!

The 2.4 min video below is of a prayer written by Fritz Perls. It is a pleasant reminder to live our own truth.

About Yaz

Hi Everyone! Please check out my site. There you'll find a range of subjects on which I've expressed my world view. I always challenge myself and others to move out of their point of view and try seeing things from another perspective. Your point of view will always be there if you don't like mine! And I'd love to hear from you. Perhaps you'll shift something in me. This is the journey to the True Self and I love it. Lots of love to you all!

Discussion

15 thoughts on “The Gift of Dreaming

  1. I am interested in what my dreams are telling me, or releasing from me, for my benefit. I never quite believed that what I dream/dreamed could be explained by someone else’s definition. How could ALL dreams symbols mean the exact same thing?

    I like your process. It makes much more sense to me.

    Posted by Chatter Master | March 22, 2013, 8:15 pm
  2. Great post Yaz, thank you for sharing! I love the video at the end of Fritz Perls prayer, I resonate with it very much. Incidentally, I did realize and come to understand what my dream about the alligator meant that I posted about the other day. It was a very simple interpretation, but deeply meaningful to me. I think it’s so true that you can’t go by books or other peoples explanations of what your own dreams mean, it’s such an individual thing. Again, I enjoyed this very much, so thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Posted by Jewels | March 22, 2013, 8:34 pm
  3. Dreams fascinate me and have played a critical role in my recovery.
    (it’s ironic to me that I have a draft post about dreams, too! 😉 I’ve been thinking on the importance of dreams for a long time -thanks for the great reminder!)

    Posted by Denise Hisey | March 22, 2013, 10:14 pm
  4. This post is in perfect timing for me as I am working with an 88 year old mentor who is very much into dreams and because of him, I am again paying attention to my dreams. I interpret them intuitively so sometimes his interpretation may differ from mine, yet he respects what I think it means. I keep having bathroom dreams, and have for years, and I think it means to cleanse my body (as in detox). I am assume I will have them again, so will attention to my feelings during the dream.

    Posted by sufilight | March 23, 2013, 10:35 am
  5. What a beautiful poem Yaz… one I’ll have to recite. You truly are an incredible woman… your loss is vast sister and it is indeed a privilege to read how you’re processing it. It’s interesting to see how you unravel the meaning. I’ll have to look further into The Gestalt system… my husband used it for some therapy once. I have had one reoccurring dream of an airport. Usually I miss my flight either by lagging behind with packing my bag or one time i was kidnapped before entering the airport. I wont bore you with the details but I have indeed taken off, to where I dont know… but in the air I was.
    Sending you big love sweet one…

    Posted by bentpeople | March 24, 2013, 3:17 am
  6. I have my recurring dreams (totally unprepared for uni exams or miss a flight) and ones that I remember from childhood (hiding behind my mother when a walking crocodile came and bit her head off, followed by lots of guilt) but i haven’t remembered my dreams in years. Just recently they seem very rich and at the surface though I don’t take time to try to remember them. I wonder why they are emerging now?
    As usual I relish your posts and writings. Each is a gift to me. I wish you could 800km in this direction instead. Hope your training is therapeutic 🙂

    Posted by Joy is now | March 26, 2013, 12:23 pm
  7. This is excellent, Yaz, and fascinating. And great closure that you finally understood that childhood dream.

    In my first year out of the marriage (and is mentioned in The James Diary) I had a really strong, striking, vivid dream. I had my own interpretation, but was wishing I knew a dream interpreter, to tell me what it meant as I was struggling so much wish all things going on. Won’t spoil the story, but suffice to say – this post is very meaningful to me. Dreams, I am really beginning to open up on, I am.

    GREAT you are at it again! 🙂

    Posted by WordsFallFromMyEyes | March 30, 2013, 6:10 am
  8. Yaz I enjoyed reading your post about dreams. You inspire me with how you heal yourself and your life from the great loss and tragedies you have lived through. Thank you for sharing how you interpret dreams. I always wondered and never knew how to make sense of what I dream about. Blessings! xo

    Posted by Suzanne McRae | March 30, 2013, 8:19 pm
  9. I remember each dream of mine vividly. “I am climbing a mountain and suddenly fall down” was my every night’s dream few years back then all my teeth comes out while spitting. Funny I know but scared me down to death. These two dreams have haunted me for years. Nowadays I don’t dream a lot. even if I do I don’t remember them. But I should say I do miss the sweet dreams now.

    Posted by chinks | March 31, 2013, 12:43 pm
  10. I used to dream about a character in an episode of Star Trek, a very tall bald fella in a long coat. He would chase me across the landing and I would jump from the top of the stairs; by calling out for my uncle who had recently deceased I could fly (he used to pick me up over his head so I could pretend I was flying). Then the man would use some sort of telekinetic power to drag me back up but I would wake before he could grab me.
    It shook me up so bad that I decided to look for him in my dreams when I was older, just to beat the crap out of him for scaring me as a kid – I haven’t found it him yet but I will keep looking, he’s in there somewhere!

    Posted by Danny Breslin | April 1, 2013, 2:24 pm
  11. This was so timely for me. I love how you remember your dreams when you were a child. I find it amazing that some people can’t even remember being a certain age but I too remember my dreams when I lived in my first house till I was four…. My Aunt had painted Brer Rabbit and a wolf and a bear picture for my nursery and I dreamt of them coming down the hall chasing me down a hole that I would fall in just as I would wake up I probably was not much older than two when I started having it. Funny what we remember. Funny you made me realize that I don’t remember having recurring dreams since that house.
    I love your posts! You always make me think!
    This one was especially touching my sweet friend. You are one of the better ones! You teach us how to survive!
    XOXO

    Posted by coastalmom | April 5, 2013, 4:01 pm
  12. I’m with you on dreaming. I do believe they are personally significant and can be understood if we take the time and really feel them. I’ve kept a dream journal for years and it has helped me. It would more if I let it.

    Posted by The Writing Waters Blog | April 9, 2013, 12:13 am
  13. What a beautiful, gentle prayer at the end Yaz. It was very releasing. Thank you for this post. I too remember certain recurring dreams as a child. And these days when I get a dream, I pay more attention to it. I cherish that you take us through the dream one step at a time. My warmest wishes to you for always sharing all that you are with us. Hugs, Sharon

    Posted by aleafinspringtime | April 15, 2013, 7:37 pm
  14. This was a very interesting read for me. I also loved your analysis. I belief in dreams too. Most of my dreams usually come to pass. Dreams are supernatural media of communication. Recently i saw my late mom my dream who explained some things to me for which i have been worried about. I then asked what i should about it. I got no answers. In the morning, i went to church and the issue was the sermon for the day. The sermon provided the answers i needed Imagine that !!
    Good to connect with you Yaz 🙂

    Posted by Michael | July 18, 2013, 10:37 am

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Let’s be Facebook Friends!!!

Access Yaz Rooney's Grief and Loss Blogs Here At LegacyConnect

Free e-book Dumisani’s Gift by Yasmine Rooney

Adult Spiritual

Free e-book: The Rainbow Bridge and the 12 Keys of Amenti by Yasmine Rooney

Children 11-16 Spiritual Adventure

