//
you're reading...
Matters of the Spirit, The Camino de Santiago 2013

I made it! Camino de Santiago 2013

IMG_00000077IMG_00000183IMG_00000759IMG_00000796IMG_00000787

Hello my blogging friends! As you can see from my photos, I completed my pilgrimage from St. Jean Pied de Port in France,to Santiago de Compostela in Spain. An 800 km walk, it took me 7 weeks to complete, and with immense gratitude in my heart, I am also able to say that I walked every step of the way without serious injury. I walked into Santiago de Compostela on the 21st June, an immense sense of peace settling around my heart. Every day, it terrified me that I would not be able to finish. Not once did I take it for granted that I would. The camino determines what you will accomplish, based on the human story that lies in your soul. Sometimes we start out and cannot finish, and sometimes we complete what we were meant to do. All that occurs speaks to us about who we are and what our priorities in life are. I took each step aware of my human weaknesses, and with a prayer that somehow I would overcome them and that I would make the journey to Santiago. I will feel forever blessed that I walked this path, and I intend to honour its lessons all the days that I walk this earth.

For me, a physical pilgrimage is a transformational journey into the soul. Along the way, one gets to confront the truth about oneself, and in so doing, are able to move into a different relationship with the world, and with the True Self (some call this aspect God)). Walking the Way of St. James was one of the hardest journeys I’ve ever had to make. It was also one of the most spiritually beautiful. It was an intense experience, one in which the focus was on the Divine aspects of the self, and the purpose of human life. It changed everything for me, and I now walk with a light in my heart that did not exist before.

Over time, I will share different facets of the journey. It is one in which for me, the reverberations will be felt all the days of my life, and one I will relive through my various forms of writing.

Though I am tempted to recommend this journey to you, it is not my place to do so. It is the task of the camino to call on you. Talking to many others along the way, people who were aware of the deeper movements of the spirit, it became obvious that the camino is so much more than the physical journey that many think it is. Once that call is heard, you will have no power to resist it. Though I heard the call long ago, it took thirteen years for the camino to prepare me to receive its lessons, and for me to embark on its journey. I heard similar stories along the way, one man being prepared for forty years before his chance to actually walk arose. Others walked only weeks after the call. Many walk without being aware that they were called at all. Even the most spiritually unaware walkers spoke about the spirit of the camino and how it got under their skin. The camino takes you from your every day life and places you in a dimension of experience that has its own set of rules. It takes you into a heaven of natural outer beauty, and into the hells of your own inner world. The camino takes no prisoners, and people who walk it emerge transformed.

Currently, I am in Italy, having taken a holiday with my family after completing my walk. I will be home next week, at which point I will write a series of blogs relating to the insights I received on the camino. I hope you will enjoy them.

Its great to be back with you, my blogging friends. I will be over to your blog sites soon to catch up with your news. Ciao for now from Rome!!!!!

About Yaz

Hi Everyone! Please check out my site. There you'll find a range of subjects on which I've expressed my world view. I always challenge myself and others to move out of their point of view and try seeing things from another perspective. Your point of view will always be there if you don't like mine! And I'd love to hear from you. Perhaps you'll shift something in me. This is the journey to the True Self and I love it. Lots of love to you all!

Discussion

46 thoughts on “I made it! Camino de Santiago 2013

  1. Welcome home, Yaz!!!
    I’ve missed you and have been wondering about your trip.
    So glad you’re back, and can’t wait to read more!!!
    xoxo

    Posted by Denise Hisey | July 7, 2013, 10:45 pm
  2. I was just thinking of you today, Yaz and wondering about your pilgrimage on the Camino. I have thought of you often over the past several weeks and have sent prayers and positive thoughts your way. It sounds like it was a wonderful journey of the soul for you, and I can’t wait to hear more! Enjoy your holiday in Italy with your family! Much love to you Yaz! ♥

    Posted by Jewels | July 7, 2013, 11:54 pm
  3. Congratulations! I am eager to see what you share of your journey. I know it will have ripple effects out to all of us.

    Posted by Chatter Master | July 7, 2013, 11:55 pm
  4. I was thinking of you, Yaz and wondering how you were doing with your spiritual walk. You look beautiful! I am looking forward to reading about your insights!

    Posted by sufilight | July 8, 2013, 5:58 am
    • Hi Marie! Thanks for the compliments! After 800 kms and fed up with looking like a tramp, I HAD to dress up for the occasion! I also look forward to catching up with your thoughts. Love to you.

      Posted by Yaz | July 9, 2013, 8:20 pm
  5. Oh my goodness welcome back. I am sure I speak for all of us followers. We missed you. So looking forward to your insights. I didn’t realise how often you’ve already ‘rescued me’ with your blog and comments in the past. Hope you will be settled coming home, looking at it all with new eyes.

    Posted by Joy is now | July 8, 2013, 11:04 am
    • Hi Emma! I’ve also missed reading all your innermost thoughts. Its remarkable how these long blogging breaks make you realize how we enjoy reading each others stuff, especially when we are searching for the same answers. I’ll be over to visit you when I get back to Doha, so until then, keep well. Lots of love.

      Posted by Yaz | July 9, 2013, 8:24 pm
  6. 800km? That’s some hike, congratulations!

    Posted by Danny Breslin | July 8, 2013, 1:39 pm
  7. Congratulations Yaz!! 🙂 I am so happy and thrilled for you and your accomplishment. I love what you say, “The camino determines what you will accomplish, based on the human story that lies in your soul.” I’m truly looking forward to your stories and reflections.

    Posted by Pat | July 8, 2013, 10:13 pm
    • Thank you so much Pat. Its lovely to have you around, and I look forward to exploring your deepest thoughts. As soon as I’m back home, I shall visit your site. Lots of love!

      Posted by Yaz | July 9, 2013, 8:25 pm
      • You’re welcome Yaz and I’m happy to be around too. I can’t wait to hear all about it.

        Posted by Pat | July 9, 2013, 9:43 pm
  8. Reblogged this on Plain Talk and Ordinary Wisdom and commented:
    Please join me in congratulating Yaz Rooney in completing her pilgrimage of the Camino de Santiago. It’s quite a quest as you will see in her introductory post of this journey.

    The Camino is something I’ve been drawn to since I first read Shirley MacLaine’s book, “The Camino – A Journey of the Spirit”, over a decade ago. I have a personal friend who is training to be in the best mental, physical and spiritual shape she can be on before her scheduled trip. I have another internet friend, Randall St. Germain at “Camino My Way” (http://www.caminomyway.com), who has also completed the pilgrimage, written a book and writes posts about it.

    I’m looking forward to reading more stories of her experiences, spiritual insights and what she learned along the way.

    Posted by Pat | July 8, 2013, 11:39 pm
    • Yaz, Congratulations on completing the Camino!!! I too finished the Camino in July and was had started in St. Jean Pied de Port also. It is an amazing accomplishment and I hope that you’ll take a look at my blog michaelspilgrimage.wordpress.com , congratulations and buen camino!

      Posted by mromo1962 | August 13, 2013, 4:34 am
      • Hello Michael! Congratulations to you too, and thank you for visiting me here. I just popped over to your lovely informative blog and see that it is worth a good read! I shall definitely follow. I don’t know about you, but I think about the camino all the time, my heart yearning for something finer. It really does something to you. Thanks again for connecting.

        Posted by Yaz | August 13, 2013, 8:06 am
  9. Welcome back Yaz! It’s wonderful to hear a little about your journey on the Camino. I cannot wait to read the future posts that will reflect your experiences and transformation. Enjoy your much deserved vacation time with your family. Congratulations this is so awesome. xo

    Posted by Suzanne McRae (@SuzMcRae) | July 9, 2013, 10:52 pm
  10. Congratulations Yaz & I look forward to hearing some of your precious insights when you get home! Much love to you, Lance and Annabel and have a fabulous holiday in Rome – you deserve it! J xx

    Posted by Jules | July 9, 2013, 11:48 pm
  11. Good to hear from you again and glad your trip has been a good one.

    Posted by ivonprefontaine | July 10, 2013, 3:28 am
  12. Big smiles indicate good times as you traveled to those places of hearts desire. Welcome back! now you are revitalized and refreshed. with love, Eddie

    Posted by Eddie Two Hawks | July 10, 2013, 1:15 pm
  13. I’m really looking forward to reading about your experiences and your insights. It’s quite inspiring!

    Posted by grahamforeverinmyheart | July 10, 2013, 10:35 pm
    • Thank you. I hope they mean something to you in time. Everything takes time, and we have to wait, no matter how much pain we are in. The camino reminds you of that. Keep safe.

      Posted by Yaz | July 11, 2013, 11:36 am
  14. Hi Yaz 🙂
    So great to see you post – was wondering so much about you, but CAN’T BELIEVE it’s been 7 weeks!!!

    What a wonderful accomplishment – obviously written in your soul 🙂 I appreciate what you wrote – that other level to it all makes it all so interesting and you know, sometimes we do start but cannot finish.. yet.

    As the call comes to each, I wonder how it came to you, and how long you took before taking it up. That guy waiting 40 years – !!!

    Oh Yaz, so wonderful to hear you’re well & you achieved this enormous trek. Huge, huge kudos to you.

    xxx
    & say hello to Rome for me 🙂

    Noeleen

    Posted by WordsFallFromMyEyes | July 11, 2013, 11:24 am
    • Thanks Noeleen! Its great to hear from an old blogging friend, and I’m also looking forward to catching up with your stories from the past and thoughts about your world. It took me since 2000 to get to the camino! Every year I thought about it, tried to make some sort of plan to go, but it never was the time. There was a lot I had to go through before I could take this journey and receive its lessons clearly. It was wonderful and difficult.

      Lots of love to you and Danny, and I’ll be over to visit your blog as soon as I’m back home.

      Posted by Yaz | July 11, 2013, 11:33 am
      • Thanks Yaz, & no need to catch up!! 🙂 That can become a task, I do know. You’ll understand from wherever you left off.

        Interesting, since 2000 – very interesting. Life is fascinating me at the moment – how things fall into place, how I realise beauty and joy, how I made time to holiday with Daniel though it creates more debt for me though I don’t care & feel it’s not important!! I only don’t want to pass on my debt to Daniel, so will need to work that out (!).

        I’m so well, Yaz, & so hoping you too. But you sound great! 🙂

        Posted by WordsFallFromMyEyes | July 11, 2013, 12:15 pm
  15. Yaz – just wanted to let you know I’ve included you as one of my nominees for this award on my site (http://plaintalkandordinarywisdom.com/thank-you-wonderful-team-member-readership-award-nomination/).

    Thank you for your writing and your support!

    Posted by Pat | July 18, 2013, 4:31 am
  16. tester

    Posted by coastalmom | July 19, 2013, 4:04 pm
  17. So strange… I printed a tester cuz it said my comment could not be posted. Never had that message before!
    ???

    Anywaaaay, I lost the last comment but I said…
    I’d been thinking of ya and can’t wait to hear about your journey in the amazing way you have with photos and words I am looking forward to a virtual tour!

    Posted by coastalmom | July 19, 2013, 4:06 pm
  18. Can’t wait to hear from you again, Yaz. So very much hope it’s all still rolling all so well 🙂

    Posted by WordsFallFromMyEyes | July 20, 2013, 9:24 am
  19. you are simply awesome Yaz! congratulations! every time I come here I take away gems of inspiration … can’t wait for your coming blogs!!! love & light ❤

    Posted by carolineskanne | July 25, 2013, 11:22 pm
  20. Congratulations to you! Felicidades!

    Posted by The Presents of Presence | July 28, 2013, 1:10 pm
  21. This is really great news! You also look fabulous!
    I have some catching up to do, was away the whole summer… But can’t wait to read more about your experience. You are a truly courageous soul xox

    Posted by shamanictracker | September 7, 2013, 5:09 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Reblogged Post: "I Made It! Camino de Santiago 2013" by Yaz Rooney | Plain Talk and Ordinary Wisdom - July 9, 2013

  2. Pingback: The Escape – Part I | WordsFallFromMyEyes - July 11, 2013

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Let’s be Facebook Friends!!!

Access Yaz Rooney's Grief and Loss Blogs Here At LegacyConnect

Free e-book Dumisani’s Gift by Yasmine Rooney

Adult Spiritual

Free e-book: The Rainbow Bridge and the 12 Keys of Amenti by Yasmine Rooney

Children 11-16 Spiritual Adventure

