//
you're reading...
Matters of the Spirit

30 Years of Love: Lucky Me!!!

71877_10200271986664221_1107261493_n

Today marks thirty years of marriage to the kindest, strongest, most sincere man I will ever know. I wrote this last year on our anniversary, and post it again for my beau! He wrote the book on How To Be The Perfect Husband. And yes, I’m smug! Who wouldn’t be?!! Just look at how sexy he still is. I’m a lucky girl.IMG_00000995

Thank you Lance…

…for your energy, your enthusiasm for life, your excitement about the future

…for always singing, your voice rising through the rafters and into the skies and stars, filling our hearts with an unspoken joy

…for being focussed, for your hard work, for providing a home and a good life for us

…for always doing your best, for always being admired at work, for always being the one to be relied upon

…for your love of beauty, for loving the smell of flowers, incense, perfume

…for loving women, enjoying their talk, noticing how they look, caring about their hopes and dreams

…for making me the object of envy amongst my girlfriends, for making them seek you out when they have issues

…for loving me when I could not, for seeing beauty when I could not, for seeing talent when I could not

…for seeing past my insecurities, and seeing someone strong and able

…for insisting that I see it all too

…for our two children, for being a playful father, for being their best mate

…for making breakfasts for all their friends, for talking into the early hours with them, for teaching them to think, to wonder, to question

…for never hurting our children, for never hurting me

…for wanting to kill my father for hurting me

…for forgiving him when I forgave him

…for undoing the damage of my childhood with all your attention and all your wisdom

…for wishing you were there to save me from my childhood pain

…for being here when I lived through it all again

…for not being shocked about my past

…for having so many answers to questions I couldn’t ask

…for letting me take my journey

…for understanding my insanity, for following me through my mad world

…for knowing you’re a part of it all, yet not knowing anything at all

…for coming through the Dark Night with me when we lost our boy

…for singing again, and paving the way forward with your songs

…for knowing all my dark places and visiting with me there

…for being ready to leave this world with me if I see fit to go

…for your cups of tea every morning because I’m not a morning person

…for the smile that accompanies the tea, for the creased lines around your eyes that show your innate joyful nature

…for loving me with fat thighs, thin thighs and for loving my body even when all my bits have gone south

…for thinking I look great even when my eyes are puffy and my hair needs doing

…for marrying me and making my life worthwhile

…for looking yummy even after all these years

…for being the warmest, kindest, most loving person I could ever know

…for being the strongest person I could ever know

…for making me feel that if I had to do my childhood over again just to find you, I’d do it in a heartbeat

…for being the best friend I’ve ever had, and ever will have

…for being you.

To say ‘I love you’ isn’t enough. But I’ll say it. I love you.

Your Yazzy

About Yaz

Hi Everyone! Please check out my site. There you'll find a range of subjects on which I've expressed my world view. I always challenge myself and others to move out of their point of view and try seeing things from another perspective. Your point of view will always be there if you don't like mine! And I'd love to hear from you. Perhaps you'll shift something in me. This is the journey to the True Self and I love it. Lots of love to you all!

Discussion

56 thoughts on “30 Years of Love: Lucky Me!!!

  1. Dearest Yaz,
    To read this is a gift. That’s how all love stories should be – a beautiful gift that lights up our world and beyond. My warmest congratulations to you and Lance! Hugs, Sharon

    Posted by aleafinspringtime | August 6, 2013, 2:12 pm
  2. You are blessed to love and to be so loved. I am glad you have Lance.

    Posted by The Presents of Presence | August 6, 2013, 2:18 pm
  3. Yazzy 🙂 I haven’t heard that before… though maybe should have remembered it from last year.

    I love that photo – so gorgeous. This is beautiful, Yaz. CONGRATS. Sooooo, does he have a brother… maybe in Oz?? 😉

    Posted by WordsFallFromMyEyes | August 6, 2013, 3:02 pm
  4. I love this, Yaz! He sounds like a truly wonderful man, you are lucky indeed! I have a sneaking suspicion that he is equally as fortunate to have you too! 😉 Happy anniversary to you both! ♥

    Posted by Jewels | August 6, 2013, 5:12 pm
  5. Congratulations Yaz for 30 years of love and happiness with your man. I too consider myself so blessed by having a FANTASTIC relationship and am more in love now after almost 36 years that ever before. I happen to believe that it is very important that we are open and let others know that such long-lasting bliss is possible–because there is so much bad press about divorce and people staying together. Sure some of it takes intention and effort but the rewards are so worth it. That’s why last year I wrote the blog post “The Best Marriages Just Get Better & Better—Thirty Five Years & Still Counting” Here’s a link in case anyone is interested… http://smartliving365.com/the-best-marriages-get-better-better-thirty-five-years-still-counting/ Enjoy your special day and the rest of your lives together! ~Kathy

    Posted by Kathy Gottberg | August 6, 2013, 6:12 pm
    • Thank you so much Kathy. You are so right; there are many women out there who have had bad experiences, and its nice for them to know that there are good men in the world. I’ll be over right away to read your link.

      Posted by Yaz | August 6, 2013, 6:39 pm
  6. Congratulations to you and Lance. Have a wonderful day.

    Posted by ivonprefontaine | August 6, 2013, 7:21 pm
  7. Huge hugs and congratulations to you both on your anniversary! I consider myself fortunate to know both of you guys & love you dearly. I hope you have a wonderful celebration of your life together – you really are a wonderful couple and a shining example of how special a relationship can be! J x

    Posted by Jules | August 6, 2013, 8:51 pm
  8. Ooh, this poem is a touching poem. You two look gorgeous together! Happy Anniversary!

    Posted by sufilight | August 6, 2013, 11:30 pm
  9. I think I love him too! Congratulations to you both! 🙂

    Posted by Chatter Master | August 7, 2013, 12:07 am
  10. You’re both lucky to have each other. Sweet post.

    Posted by Danny Breslin | August 7, 2013, 1:46 pm
  11. Cutest most wonderful loving post ever! Made my heart smile. 🙂 Congrats lovebug!

    Posted by momentumofjoy | August 8, 2013, 6:06 am
  12. so beautiful Yaz, brought tears to my eyes, you know … in a most wonderful way : – ) Thanks for sharing!

    Posted by carolineskanne | August 11, 2013, 12:26 pm
  13. What a beautiful relationship you have been blessed to have. Wishing you both a wonderful Anniversary!! xo

    Posted by Suzanne McRae | August 12, 2013, 12:55 am
  14. Simply gorgeous Yaz♡….you and ♡Lance are a beautiful model of what Real ♡LOVE looks like. May your blessings multiply. Thank you with LOVE♡

    Posted by susiesheartpathblog | August 16, 2013, 12:47 pm
  15. Ah, smiling, Yaz 🙂

    Again I say, this was lovely. Just checking in, seeing if I missed a notification…

    Hope you are well, Yaz xx

    Posted by WordsFallFromMyEyes | August 18, 2013, 1:10 pm
  16. Hallo Yaz einen schönen Abend und eine schöne Woche wünscht dir Klaus

    Posted by gageier | August 19, 2013, 9:07 pm
  17. Liebe Yaz habe gelesen 30 Jahre zusammen ,das ist sehr schön und gab sicher gute und auch schlechte Zeiten ,wir haben die 25 Jahre geschafft es war und ist eine schöne Zeit sei ganz liebgegrüßt Klaus

    Posted by gageier | August 20, 2013, 3:16 pm
  18. Yaz
    What a wonderful glimpse into your marriage and the blessing it is! Happy Anniversary! Thank you for sharing. It blessed me.

    Posted by coastalmom | September 2, 2013, 4:43 pm
    • Hey Diane! Lovely to see you here! Yes, I am blessed with a great man. Thanks for dropping by!

      Posted by Yaz | September 2, 2013, 4:55 pm
      • I am lucky like you I have wonderful partner. If you would like to see her go to pommepal@wordpress.
        Life is really fantastic with a wonderful mate. Mate is an Aussie expression for good buddy or great pal.
        It is no wonder you have positive, inspiring mixed with good humour. One of the first posts i saw of yours was a real light hearted laugh about good looking doctors.

        Posted by jacksjottings | September 3, 2013, 9:22 am
      • Thank you for your compliments Jack! Yes, isn’t it great to have someone to share the triumphs and the tragedies with? I checked out your lovely lady and can see why you love Gypsy woman! I especially loved her blog about the windows of Malanda. Thanks for sending me over there!

        Posted by Yaz | September 4, 2013, 1:57 pm
      • That is what friends are for, caring and sharing. I enjoy cruising around wordpress and often see your comments on posts I like. This makes me feel we have quiet a lot in common.:-)

        Posted by jacksjottings | September 7, 2013, 2:57 am
  19. How lucky you both are! Today was a very important day for me to read this motivational post. It is important to keep in mind the beautiful things in life. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Posted by Shantideva | September 15, 2013, 1:31 pm
  20. VERY NICE PICTURE…
    GREETING(s)from ANDREA
    BEAUTIFUL DAY

    Posted by Andrea | September 15, 2013, 2:46 pm
  21. This is so lovingly beautiful! I am very happy for both of you and your family. Congratulations xox

    Posted by shamanictracker | September 15, 2013, 7:15 pm
  22. I came back to read this again! Ya got me appreciating him too!!! LOL!

    Posted by coastalmom | September 16, 2013, 11:03 pm
  23. WOW! Congratulations and best wishes to you two!! Cheers~ 😀

    Posted by BeWithUs | September 24, 2013, 3:53 pm
    • Thank you so much!

      Posted by Yaz | September 24, 2013, 4:09 pm
      • You’re welcome! Cheers~ 😀

        Posted by BeWithUs | September 24, 2013, 4:53 pm
      • Hi! For some reason, I’m having problems posting comments on other people’s sites. At the moment, WordPress are sorting it out. As soon as its done, I’ll be along to browse through more of your stuff!(I had a look, but cannot leave my thoughts with you!) Thanks so much for visiting. Its always good to see new people here. Lots of love.

        Posted by Yaz | September 24, 2013, 5:09 pm
      • You’re welcome, my friend!

        Thank you so much for visiting and we really appreciate this sweet and lovely gesture of yours.

        Have a great day ahead, always~ Cheers!! 😀

        Posted by BeWithUs | October 1, 2013, 11:19 am
  24. Hi Yaz – Just looked at your page for the first time. Hearty congratulations on your 30th anniversary! Well done to you both. I didn’t know that men with relationship skills like Lance existed. What did you do right in your previous lives Yaz?? Tell Lance he should start a training school in life & relationship skills for men – and especially boys!

    Posted by Renee | April 20, 2014, 1:22 pm

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Let’s be Facebook Friends!!!

Access Yaz Rooney's Grief and Loss Blogs Here At LegacyConnect

Free e-book Dumisani’s Gift by Yasmine Rooney

Adult Spiritual

Free e-book: The Rainbow Bridge and the 12 Keys of Amenti by Yasmine Rooney

Children 11-16 Spiritual Adventure

