//
you're reading...
Matters of the Spirit, People and Life, Self-Help, World Events

Our Children, and the Danger of Strangers

Please pass this link on to parents with young children

Please pass this link on to parents with young children

The continuing story surrounding little Madeleine McCann’s abduction six years ago brings up many different issues for all those parents around the world who have kept watch on the whole unfortunate drama. It was 2007, and Madeleine was only three years old when she was snatched from her bed while the family was holidaying in Portugal. To this day she has not been found, though British police believe that they may now have some leads that will bring some closure to Madeleine’s parents. The episode takes me back to my own parenting days, and finds me reflecting on a world that seems to have become increasingly dangerous to children.

For me, having children, loving them in the most appropriate ways, protecting them and nurturing them to become positive members of society can be a human being’s greatest achievement. When I reflect on the childhood of my two children, I am always content to know that I loved them well and gave them the tools to become responsible adults. When casting my mind over the issue of protecting them, though I know that I did everything I could do, I also remember that there were moments that were out of my control, times when they were open to all kinds of danger. There was a part of me that lived in constant terror of them being abducted from the school grounds, or when they were out playing with friends. My mind played havoc with all the thoughts of the awful things that might happen to them if they were snatched from me. We live in a world that is both beautiful and terrifying at the same time, and our children, often oblivious to the horrors of the world, are vulnerable to the traps that predatory adults set for them

It therefore didn’t surprise me when a US study conducted by paediatricians at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, showed the issue of child abduction to be the greatest fear harboured by parents. Almost three-quarters of parents showed more concern for abduction over other serious issues such as car accidents, drug addiction etc. And we have good reason for carrying such fears. In England and Wales, the Office for National Statistics report 532 cases of child abduction. In 2004, a Home Office report segmented 798 police reports of child abduction in England and Wales:

Just over half (399) were attempted abductions. Out of the 798 reports, 56% (447) involved a stranger, 47% (375) were attempted abductions by a stranger and 9% (72) of all reports were successful child abductions by a stranger; 23% (183) of all reported abductions were parental. Those parental reports are only counted as a child abduction by police if the children are taken abroad.

Approaching the subject of child abduction without frightening our children is a tough call. A new e-bookslider-scroll entitled The Legend of the Gilded Scrolls by S.T. Hendricks, helps us teach them through story-telling, that not all adults are to be trusted. The story of The Legend of the Gilded Scroll is set in Weaverland,  a secret, golden Kingdom far beneath the Earth’s surface. There, Scrollweavers work day and night to weave magical scrolls that protect children and make all their dreams come true. When an evil and cunning Trogard (a half-human, half-witch) called Nada abducts a child, the Scrollweavers invent The Golden Rules Scroll, which contains all of the important lessons children need to know about the danger of trusting strangers. It is a truly lovely story, one I wish had been around when my children were young.

If you are a parent with young children, a grandparent, an aunt or uncle, a guardian, a God-parent, I suggest you begin their education about adult predators with this book. It is a good lead-in to a tricky subject, and you’ll feel more at peace knowing that you have done something to protect your little ones. If you don’t have children yourself, but know people with young ones, please find time to refer them to this link http://www.uzv-legend.co.za/#!About.html

We all need to play our role in protecting our children from danger. S.T. Hendricks has done a wonderful job in doing hers, and with this post, I hope to pass on her gift to our children.

about-1

About Yaz

Hi Everyone! Please check out my site. There you'll find a range of subjects on which I've expressed my world view. I always challenge myself and others to move out of their point of view and try seeing things from another perspective. Your point of view will always be there if you don't like mine! And I'd love to hear from you. Perhaps you'll shift something in me. This is the journey to the True Self and I love it. Lots of love to you all!

Discussion

16 thoughts on “Our Children, and the Danger of Strangers

  1. Hi Yaz, I was surprised to start seeing more coverage about Madeline again. It sounds hopeful they have some good leads. How agonizing it must be for her family. I, too, was always terrified of someone taking my kids. I had a secret code word they were supposed to ask for from anyone saying they were supposed to pick them up instead of me. We do need to teach them about all dangers, though, not just strangers. Sometimes the most dangerous people are within our own circle of friends and/or family.

    Posted by Denise Hisey | October 20, 2013, 1:19 am
    • You are right, Denise, sometimes the most dangerous are within the family, and its more difficult to protect against that. The code word is one of the tools the author uses to help children protect themselves, and I’m always surprised that people don’t use it. I didn’t, scarily enough. Thanks for reading!

      Posted by Yaz | October 20, 2013, 6:53 am
  2. This is a concern for many parents. It does make it easier to talk to kids about abduction when it’s in a story. What type of protection does this story give children? Do they fight back? I think having the right tools to fight back would be helpful. Thanks for this article.

    Posted by Chandra | October 20, 2013, 2:00 am
    • Fighting back in a physical way is not realistic I believe, unless we get our little ones to be martial arts experts. Giving them tools of discernment is, which is what this author does. Very simple approach, the rest is up to the parent. Thanks for reading!

      Posted by Yaz | October 20, 2013, 6:56 am
  3. My deepest fear then, and now.

    Posted by Chatter Master | October 20, 2013, 2:21 am
    • Thanks for reading, Colleen.

      Posted by Yaz | October 20, 2013, 6:57 am
      • You’re welcome Yaz. When my children were born I was terrified of others hurting them, and taking them. With my first one I used to sleep on her bedroom floor when her dad worked midnights. When the second was born, and we built on to our home I actually put a door between our bedrooms so I could have easier access to save them! I did warn my children and was highly protective. And I will be the same way with the grandchildren.

        Posted by Chatter Master | October 20, 2013, 9:00 pm
  4. My mother was very protective of her two daughters and taught us about being careful with strangers, and because of this both my sis and I avoided a few potentially threatening situations. There were definitely warning signs now that I look back as an adult.

    Posted by sufilight | October 20, 2013, 10:52 am
    • Yes, Marie, there are always warning signs, but often we aren’t taught to see them. I wasn’t taught much, since our parents lived in what seemed to be a much more innocent age. Its all at the surface these days, and now we have to talk to kids no matter how frightening it all is.

      Posted by Yaz | October 20, 2013, 12:03 pm
  5. As a kid we never heard of that many cases, In fact, although we were told not to talk to strangers, I can’t remember it ever happening and we used to play in the street and the local park, even walk to school alone. How come there is such an increase in the likelihood of abduction? Are there more actually more predators out there? Or is it more publicised now?

    Posted by Danny Breslin | October 21, 2013, 12:17 pm
  6. You know, Yaz, I never, not ever, feared Daniel might be abducted. How awful to think this possible. I don’t know if my mind was full of other things or I just did not regard it as a risk, but it never was a fear of mine.

    There was one time a girl about my age – say 30s – talked to me in a foodhall in the city when I was really depressed. She was a stranger from nowhere and she offered to babysit Daniel for me, and it struck me as RIDICULOUS that she would imagine I would hand Daniel over to her so I could “go shopping for a couple of hours”. It felt really absurd, and though I was frazzled to “death”, depressed, fatigued, I said to her know. Instinctively, it simply felt highly suspicious. It was very very weird. Apart from that though, I never imagined anyone swooping him up, taking him away. It’s the PURPOSE for which these evil humans lift children from their lives, that chills me so truly to the core.

    I’m glad things are being investigated for the McCanns and the world has become more vigilant, but oh, so wish it wouldn’t last only as long as the news story retains interest. Good post, Yaz.

    Posted by WordsFallFromMyEyes | October 24, 2013, 11:27 pm
    • I can’t believe anyone would be so brazen as to actually ASK you, Noeleen. Perhaps she was one of those who couldn’t have a child or something. I’m glad you refused, otherwise you’d have suffered the McCann’s misery.I’m glad you liked the post.

      Posted by Yaz | October 25, 2013, 11:56 am

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Getting Started with Child Safety: Parental Preparation | Gun Safety Blog - November 18, 2013

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Let’s be Facebook Friends!!!

Access Yaz Rooney's Grief and Loss Blogs Here At LegacyConnect

Free e-book Dumisani’s Gift by Yasmine Rooney

Adult Spiritual

Free e-book: The Rainbow Bridge and the 12 Keys of Amenti by Yasmine Rooney

Children 11-16 Spiritual Adventure

